Site Accessibility Information Access Key 1 to Skip to Top Navigation Access Key 2 to Skip to the Three One One link Access Key 3 to Skip to City of Winnipeg Main Menu Access Key 4 to Skip to Left Navigation Menu Access Key 5 to Skip to Content area Access Key 6 to Skip to Right Sidebar content area Access Key 7 to Skip to Footer Links
City of Winnipeg
|  Link to the City of Winnipeg French websiteFrançais  |
News Releases

November 28, 2018

Mayor Bowman Makes Additional Council Appointments

Released: 9:10 a.m.

Winnipeg, MB – Additional Council appointments to various positions and roles were announced today by Mayor Brian Bowman.

“These appointments and the roles they play reflect the significant opportunities to engage with a diverse community as well as meet the needs of governing a growing city,” said Mayor Brian Bowman. “These appointments fulfill important governance and leadership roles, and provide Council with strategic opportunities to meaningfully engage with residents, community groups, organizations, as well as other governments.”

Following the October 24th civic election, Mayor Bowman met individually with each new candidate elected to Council as well as those members re-elected to Council. During these meetings, Mayor Bowman discussed the various priorities Councillors have for the city as well as share details of the mandate Winnipeggers provided him. These meetings helped inform and shape the Mayor’s appointments to not only Executive Policy Committee, but also today’s appointments.

The following Councillors, listed in alphabetical order, have been asked and have agreed to serve in the following roles:

Councillor Matt Allard (St. Boniface)

  • Council Liaison, French Language Services
  • Council Liaison, Labour Relations

Councillor Scott Gillingham (St. James)

  • Council Representative, Partnership of the Capital Region
  • Council Representative, North American Strategy for Competitiveness (NASCO)

Councillor Cindy Gilroy (Daniel McIntyre)

  • Chair, Winnipeg Housing Steering Committee
  • Secretary, End Homelessness Strategies
  • Council Representative, United Nations Women Safe Cities Global Initiative

Councillor Kevin Klein (Charleswood-Tuxedo)

  • Board Member, Assiniboine Park Conservancy
  • Member, Mayor’s Indigenous Advisory Circle

Councillor Brian Mayes (St. Vital)

  • Council Representative, Winnipeg Food Council

Councillor Shawn Nason (Transcona)

  • Council Liaison, Veteran and Military Affairs 

Councillor John Orlikow (River Heights-Fort Garry)

  • Member, Winnipeg Housing Steering Committee
  • Council Representative, Partnership of the Capital Region

Councillor Sherri Rollins (Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry)

  • Member, Winnipeg Housing Steering Committee
  • Member, Mayor’s Indigenous Advisory Circle

Councillor Vivian Santos (Point Douglas)

  • Chair, Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Heritage, Culture & Arts
  • Council Liaison, School Board and Youth Opportunities

November 28, 2018