Site Accessibility Information Access Key 1 to Skip to Top Navigation Access Key 2 to Skip to the Three One One link Access Key 3 to Skip to City of Winnipeg Main Menu Access Key 4 to Skip to Left Navigation Menu Access Key 5 to Skip to Content area Access Key 6 to Skip to Right Sidebar content area Access Key 7 to Skip to Footer Links
City of Winnipeg
|  Link to the City of Winnipeg French websiteFrançais  |
COVID-19: City of Winnipeg response and latest updates on City facilities and services COVID-19 : Mesures prises par la Ville de Winnipeg et dernières nouvelles sur les installations et services municipaux
Watch Live and Archived Council and Committee Meetings
Council Building
City Clerk's

Committees of Council

The composition of City Council is legislated under Part 3 of The City of Winnipeg Charter and consists of 15 Councillors and the Mayor. Each Councillor represents an individual ward while the Mayor is elected by a vote of the city-at-large.

Councillors have a dual role: they are members of Council (dealing with decisions affecting the whole city) and members of the Community Committees (dealing with local community issues).

Pursuant to the Charter, Council has the authority to establish committees of Council and Council may, by by-law delegate a power, duty or function to a committee of Council.

Standing Committees

Section 63(1) of The City of Winnipeg Charter gives Council the discretion to establish standing committees of council and determine their respective duties and powers.

Under the City’s Organization By-law, council has established six Standing Committees:

  • The Standing Policy Committee on Infrastructure Renewal and Public Works
  • The Standing Policy Committee on Innovation
  • The Standing Policy Committee on Finance
  • The Standing Policy Committee on Property and Development,Heritage and Downtown Development
  • The Standing Policy Committee on Protection, Community Services and Parks
  • The Standing Policy Committee on Water and Waste, Riverbank Management and the Environment

Standing Committee Members PDF

Community Committees

In addition to Standing Committees there are five Community Committees:

  • Assiniboia Community Committee
  • City Centre Community Committee
  • East Kildonan-Transcona Community Committee
  • Lord Selkirk-West Kildonan Community Committee
  • Riel Community Committee

There is no statutory requirement in The City of Winnipeg Charter for Community Committees, but Council has elected to continue the Community Committee operation and structure as described in the City’s Organization By-law No. 7100/97.

Each of the 15 Councillors represents a ward within the City of Winnipeg, with three wards comprising a Community Committee.

Community Committee Members PDF

For Committee meeting dates and times, go to Schedules Of Meetings.

Last update: May 22, 2014